SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
A-1366-96T2
HERMAN JEFFER, REGINALD F.
HOPKINSON, and JEROME A. VOGEL,
Individually, and JEFFER,
HOPKINSON, VOGEL, COOMBER &
PEIFFER, ESQS. (formerly JEFFER,
HARTMAN, HOPKINSON, VOGEL,
COOMBER & PEIFFER, ESQS.),
Plaintiffs-Appellants/
Cross-Respondents,
v.
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY OF PITTSBURGH, PA,
Defendant-Third Party
Plaintiff-Respondent/
Cross-Appellant,
v.
ANTONIO PACELLI and VINCENT
VECCHIOTTI,
Third-Party Defendants.
__________________________________________
Argued November 19, 1997 - Decided December 10, 1997
Before Judges Shebell, A.A. Rodríguez and Coburn.
On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Law Division, Passaic County.
Albert C. Lisbona argued the cause for appellants/
cross-respondents (Dwyer, Connell & Lisbona, attorneys;
Mr. Lisbona, on the brief, and reply brief).
Charles E. Powers, Jr. argued the cause for
respondent/cross-appellant (Harwood Lloyd, LLP,
attorneys; Mr. Powers, on the letter-brief).
The opinion of the court was delivered by SHEBELL,
P.J.A.D.
This appeal involves the interpretation and application of
an exclusion clause in a professional liability insurance policy
and also application of the entire controversy doctrine.
On February 6, 1995, plaintiffs, Herman Jeffer, Reginald F.
Hopkinson, and Jerome A. Vogel, individually, and Jeffer,
Hopkinson, Vogel, Coomber & Peiffer, Esqs. ("plaintiffs" or "the
Law Firm"), filed a complaint for declaratory judgment in the Law
Division against defendant, National Union Fire Insurance Company
of Pittsburgh, P.A. ("National Union"). Defendant filed an
answer, counterclaim and third-party complaint for declaratory
judgment, naming Antonio Pacelli and Vincent Vecchiotti as third-party defendants. It does not appear that Pacelli or Vecchiotti
answered or participated in the proceedings.
On December 21, 1995, defendant moved for summary judgment
on the grounds that the plaintiffs violated the entire
controversy doctrine by failing to join defendant in the earlier
malpractice action brought against plaintiffs by Pacelli and
Vecchiotti. Summary judgment on this grounds was denied on
February 16, 1996. Defendant sought leave to appeal, which was
denied. On July 31, 1996, defendant moved for summary judgment
on the coverage issue, and plaintiffs cross-moved for summary
judgment. On October 11, 1996, the motion judge, in a letter
opinion, granted summary judgment to defendant and denied
plaintiffs' cross-motion.
Plaintiffs appeal and defendant cross-appeals from the
denial of summary judgment on the entire controversy doctrine.
The Law Firm and its predecessor maintained a professional
liability insurance policy with defendant for the calendar years
1987, 1988, and 1989. The policy bound defendant:
To pay on behalf of the insured all sums
which the insured shall become legally
obligated to pay as damages because of any
claim or claims, including claim(s) for
personal injury, first made against the
insured and reported to the Company during
the policy period or extended reporting
period, arising out of any act, error or
omission of the insured in rendering or
failing to render professional services for
others in the insured's capacity as a lawyer,
fiduciary or Notary Public, and caused by the
insured or any other person for whose acts,
errors or omissions the insured is legally
responsible, except as excluded or limited by
the terms, conditions and exclusions of this
policy.
However, exclusion (g) of the policy in pertinent part states:
"This policy does not apply ... to any claim made by or against
or in connection with any business enterprise ... which is owned
by any insured or in which any insured is a partner...."
In 1986, a general partnership known as West Paterson
Associates (West Paterson) was formed. It was comprised of eight
individuals, three of whom, Herman Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson,
and Jerome A. Vogel, were members of the Law Firm. Antonio
Pacelli, a client of the Law Firm, was also a partner in West
Paterson.
West Paterson became the contract purchasers of
approximately 15.5 acres of property. In 1987, it assigned the
contract to Garrett Mountain Associates (Garrett Mountain), a
limited partnership with two partners, Pacelli and Vincent
Vecchiotti. Vecchiotti was also a client of the Law Firm. In
the contract of purchase and closing of title, Garrett Mountain
was represented by Charles M. Kotick, of Robinson, Silverman,
Pearce, Aronsohn & Berman. Garrett Mountain later defaulted on
the purchase money mortgage. West Paterson retained another law
firm and commenced a foreclosure suit in August 1988. Judgment
of foreclosure was entered and the property was reacquired by
West Paterson.
On February 6, 1989, Pacelli and Vecchiotti brought an
action in the Law Division against Jeffer, Hopkinson, and Vogel,
individually, and against the Law Firm. Notice of this claim was
given to defendant by a former partner of the Law Firm, who had
been served. The Law Firm was contacted by defense counsel
assigned by the insurance carrier. The Law Firm, by letter dated
May 16, 1989, requested that defendant not become involved in the
suit as it did not view the claims as sounding in malpractice.
Defendant then advised the Law Firm that its letter constituted a
waiver of any present or future claims to coverage or defenses
that the Law Firm may have.
On January 21, 1991, Pacelli and Vecchiotti amended their
complaint to include a Seventh Count, specifically alleging that
the plaintiffs violated the Rules of Professional Conduct. After
plaintiffs' counsel received a report from an expert setting
forth the basis for the claimants alleging malpractice,
plaintiffs, by letter dated April 1992, forwarded the amended
complaint to defendant and requested coverage.
By letter dated May 1, 1992, defendant disclaimed coverage
based on the waiver of coverage by plaintiffs' May 16, 1989
letter, and also Exclusion (g) of the insurance policy. The Law
Firm relates that it made repeated demands to defendant to alter
its position because the claim in the amended complaint was not
"made by or against or in connection with any business enterprise
owned by the plaintiff in a non-fiduciary capacity."
Subsequently, by letter dated August 3, 1993, plaintiffs
informed defendant that it was about to settle with Pacelli and
Vecchiotti for the sum of $1,650,000, that this settlement was
compelled by defendant's refusal to participate in its defense,
that it was affording defendant an opportunity to participate in
the settlement, and that it would institute suit against
defendant if it did not provide coverage. As defendant continued
in its position, the malpractice claims included in the amended
complaint of Pacelli and Vecchiotti were settled on May 26, 1993,
as proposed.
Exclusion (g) withholds coverage:
(g) to any claim made by or against or in
connection with any business enterprise
(including the ownership, maintenance or care
of any property in connection therewith) not
named in the Declarations, which is owned by
any insured or in which any insured is a
partner, or employee (except where he is an
employee solely by virtue of having been
retained to perform legal services) or which
is directly or indirectly controlled,
operated, or managed by any insured in a non-fiduciary capacity;
Clearly, the claims of Pacelli and Vecchiotti were not made
by or against any business enterprise in which an insured had an
interest. The amended complaint is brought by Pacelli and
Vecchiotti, and it is against Jeffer, Hartman, Hopkinson, Vogel,
Coomber and Peiffer, individually, and as partners in the Law
Firm. Thus, the complaint on its face reflects that the claims
were not made on behalf of or against West Paterson. The issue
then is whether the claims of Pacelli and Vecchiotti were made
"in connection with" West Paterson, a business enterprise not
named in the declarations, and in which Jeffer, Hopkinson, and
Vogel were partners.
In considering this issue, "[w]e recognize those well-settled principles governing the interpretation of contracts of
insurance that mandate broad reading of coverage provisions,
narrow reading of exclusionary provisions, resolution of
ambiguities in the insured's favor, and construction consistent
with the insured's reasonable expectations." Search EDP v.
American Home Assurance Co.,
267 N.J. Super. 537, 542 (App. Div.)
(citing Salem Group V. Oliver,
128 N.J. 1, 4 (1992), certif.
denied,
135 N.J. 466 (1993); Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. United Ins.
Co.,
264 N.J. Super. 460, 486-87 (App. Div. 1993), rev'd on other
grounds,
138 N.J. 437 (1994). Exclusionary clauses in liability
insurance policies must be strictly construed in favor of the
insured, with any doubt as to the existence of coverage resolved
in a manner that affords coverage to the insured. Longobardi v.
Chubb Insur. Co. of New Jersey,
121 N.J. 530, 537 (1990);
Sinopoli v. North River Ins. Co.,
244 N.J. Super. 245, 250 (App.
Div. 1990), certif. den.,
127 N.J. 325 (1991). Courts, however,
may not create a better policy of insurance than the one
purchased by the insured. Longobardi, supra, 121 N.J. at 537;
Sinopoli, supra, 244 N.J. Super. at 250-51.
Exclusion (g) has been interpreted by the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit, applying Pennsylvania law, in Niagara Fire
Ins. Co. v. Pepicelli, Pepicelli, Watts & Youngs, P.C.,
821 F.2d 216, 221 (3d Cir. 1987). In Niagara, the defendant, Pepicelli,
was a shareholder in the Law Firm, and the owner of World of
Tires, Inc (World of Tires). Id. at 217. World of Tires entered
into an agreement with Perma Tread Corporation (Perma Tread) to
buy its tire recapping plant. Ibid. Pursuant to the agreement,
World of Tires obtained fire and hazard insurance from the
American Insurance Corporation (American). Ibid. A fire
destroyed almost all of the assets that World of Tires was in the
process of purchasing. Ibid. Thereafter, the owners of Perma
Tread hired the Law Firm to seek recovery for the loss from
American. Ibid. American offered to settle the claim, but
Pepicelli rejected the offer. Id. at 218. The Law Firm then
filed suit against American, naming World of Tires and not Perma
Tread as the plaintiff. Ibid. Thereafter, Perma Tread
represented by other counsel sought to intervene as a plaintiff
in the fire insurance action, but a directed verdict was entered
against it because by that time its claim was barred under the
one-year contractual limitation on actions under the fire
insurance policy. Ibid.
Subsequently, Perma Tread initiated a malpractice action
against the Law Firm. Ibid. The malpractice action was stayed
for a determination of whether Niagara Fire Insurance Company
(Niagara) was required to defend the Law Firm under its
malpractice policy. Ibid. At issue was Exclusion (g),
containing language identical to the exclusion in the present
case. The Third Circuit held the exclusion not to apply,
reasoning:
We must read "in connection with" in the
context of the exclusion and the entire
policy. The parties agree that the purpose
of exclusion "g" in this malpractice policy
is to prevent collusive suits whereby
malpractice coverage could be used to shift a
lawyer's business loss onto his or her
malpractice carrier. The malpractice claims
of Perma Tread are made in connection with
its business, not in connection with the
business of World of Tires, and World of
Tires is not connected to Perma Tread's
malpractice suit in such a way that it will
benefit from a malpractice award to Perma
Tread. The only connection World of Tires
has to that suit is as a player in the
factual background. We do not believe that
reasonable, disinterested persons, on
considering exclusion "g" in the context of
the whole policy, would differ as to its
meaning; we believe they would agree that the
policy does not exclude Perma Tread's claims.
If one were to read "in connection with" to
include Perma Tread's claims within the
exclusion, the phrase would have no
discernible limit. Under such an all-inclusive reading, many other non-collusive
scenarios would result in the exclusion of
malpractice claims from coverage, contrary to
the purpose of the policy and the exclusion.
Not only does World of Tires have no
interest in the outcome of the malpractice
suit, it also did not stand to gain by a
collection of the fire insurance proceeds.
The record shows that World of Tires was
merely a nominal party in the fire insurance
litigation. Perma Tread was the real party
in interest. Whether as a loss payee under
the fire and hazard policy or because of the
purchase agreement, Perma Tread would have
received any payment made by American.
The claims made by Perma Tread can easily
be distinguished from the hypotheticals of
collusive suits that Niagara posits in its
brief. These hypotheticals all involve
potential malpractice claims by a business in
which the lawyer has an interest. Neither
Pepicelli nor any other lawyer in the Law
Firm owns any interest in Perma Tread. Leap
and Klasen own all the corporation's shares.
We conclude that the coverage of the policy
unambiguously includes Perma Tread's
malpractice claims against the Law Firm. As
we have noted, however, even if we perceived
some ambiguity in the exclusion clauses, we
could not allow the judgment below to stand.
Ambiguous language, under Pennsylvania law,
is to be construed against the insurer.
[Ibid.] (Citations and footnote omitted).
Plaintiffs urge that the Niagara holding applies here. They
point out that Vecchiotti was never an owner in West Paterson and
that Pacelli neither incurred nor claimed damages of any nature
as to his partnership interest in West Paterson. Instead,
plaintiffs contend that Vecchiotti and Pacelli's claims are
solely for their losses incurred as partners in Garrett
Mountain.
The Seventh Count of the amended complaint of Pacelli and
Vecchiotti "repeats and realleges all of the allegations of [all
previous] paragraphs ..., as if set forth at length." However,
because of the clear waiver of coverage as to the allegations of
the original complaint, we will consider only the new allegations
of malpractice.
After citing the Rules of Professional Conduct as a basis
for their claims of actual and/or apparent conflict of interest
and unprofessional conduct by the Law Firm and its members,
Pacelli and Vecchiotti, referring to their status as clients of
the Law Firm and its partners, allege:
60. Defendants represented all partners of
West Paterson Associates, other than Antonio
Pacelli, but including defendants Herman
Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson and Jerome A.
Vogel, in the subject transaction, and in
particular in negotiating the principal
business terms of the subject transaction
with their clients, plaintiffs Vincent
Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli, when such
clients clearly were unrepresented, and/or
believed themselves to be represented by
defendant Vogel and/or other members of the
law firm of Jeffer, Hartman, Hopkinson,
Vogel, Coomber and Peiffer, although the
interest of defendants was directly adverse
to that of plaintiffs; defendants (a) could
not have reasonably believed that their
representation of all partners of West
Paterson Associates, other than Antonio
Pacelli, but including defendants Herman
Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson and Jerome A.
Vogel, would not adversely affect their
relationship with plaintiffs Vincent
Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli, (b) did not
obtain the consent, in writing or otherwise,
of either of plaintiffs as to their lack of
independent representation, and (c) failed to
provide a full and accurate disclosure of the
circumstances to plaintiffs, including the
potential for future conflicts. The
foregoing conduct of defendants Herman
Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson and Jerome A.
Vogel with respect to the foregoing was in
violation of RPC 1.7(a).
61. Defendants represented plaintiffs Vincent Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli in matters directly relating to, and forming a part of the subject transaction, including the negotiation of the general business terms of the subject transaction, the obtaining of various loans and a letter of credit from Midlantic Bank, on or about December 21, 1987, and other matters; the aforesaid
conduct was in clear violation of RPC 1.7(b),
inasmuch as that representation was
materially impaired and limited by their
responsibilities to the partners of West
Paterson Associates, other than Antonio
Pacelli, and the self-interest of defendants
Herman Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson and
Jerome A. Vogel, as partners of West Paterson
Associates; said defendants (a) could not
have reasonably believed that their
representation of all partners of West
Paterson Associates, other than Antonio
Pacelli, but including defendants Herman
Jeffer, Reginald F. Hopkinson and Jerome A.
Vogel, would not adversely affect their
relationship with plaintiffs Vincent
Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli, (b) they did
not obtain the consent of either of the
plaintiffs, in writing or otherwise, based
upon full and accurate disclosure of the
circumstances to plaintiffs, to the
plaintiffs' lack of independent
representation.
62. Defendants violated RPC 1.8(a) inasmuch as Defendants' entry into a business transaction with plaintiffs Vincent Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli, and knowing acquisition of a pecuniary interest adverse to plaintiffs Vincent Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli (a) was not upon terms that were "fair and reasonable" to plaintiffs Vincent Vecchiotti and Antonio Pacelli, as evidenced, among other things, by the facts that: (i) in prior real estate transactions in which defendants had represented plaintiffs, defendants would not have permitted plaintiffs to enter into a transaction upon such terms; (ii) plaintiffs were knowingly induced and pressured by defendants to negotiate the essential business terms of the subject transaction directly with defendants, to the point such terms were fait accompli, before plaintiffs had any meaningful opportunity to seek the advice and participation of independent counsel, and (iii) plaintiffs were induced and pressured to negotiate the essential business terms of the subject transaction directly with defendants without defendants obtaining the written consent of plaintiffs to dealing directly with defendants, without independent
counsel, and (b) plaintiffs' willingness to
proceed with the transaction was induced by a
series of misrepresentations of defendants to
the effect that (inter alia): (i) the
proposed condominium units would be sold at a
price - approximately $450,000 - that would
be marketable in West Paterson; (ii) that
there would be no trouble in financing the
development without personal guarantees;
(iii) that the transaction was an excellent
investment; and (iv) that plaintiffs would
not be "hurt"See footnote 1
occurrence of events, such as inter alia,
the obtaining of financing without personal
guarantees, which normally would have been
made the subject of conditions precedent in
an agreement of this kind.
Defendant argues that significant differences in the factual
settings present here minimize the persuasiveness of the
reasoning in Niagara. It also argues, citing Rowland H. Long,
The Law of Liability Insurance (1997) § 12C.05[5], that the court
in Niagara failed to recognize that the purpose of Exclusion (g)
is not only to protect against collusive suits which shift an
attorney's business loss to his malpractice carrier, but "to
distinguish between services rendered by an insured attorney in
connection with his practice of law and services in which he
acted in another capacity." Ibid. Plaintiffs respond that a
broad interpretation of the exclusion is unwarranted, and that
the exclusion is only appropriate if directed at acts of
collusion, where business partners seek to convert business
losses into malpractice claims covered by professional liability
insurance.
Under Exclusion (g), coverage does not extend to "any claim
made ... in connection with any business enterprise . . . not
named in the Declarations," in which the insured has an ownership
interest. The term "in connection with" must be accorded its
plain and ordinary meaning. We agree that Exclusion (g) has two
purposes: 1) "to prevent collusive suits whereby malpractice
coverage could be used to shift a lawyer's business loss onto the
malpractice carrier," Niagara, supra, 821 F.2d. at 221; and 2) to
avoid the circumstance where an insured so intermingles his
business relationships with his law practice that an insurance
carrier incurs the additional risk of having to cover the insured
for legal malpractice claims relating to the conduct of business,
rather than solely out of the professional practice.
While there may be degrees of "connection," we hold that the
clause seeks to prevent coverage for legal malpractice that
arises from an insured's involvement in a personal business
endeavor, as compared to malpractice arising from an attorney's
professional relationship with a client. Proof of actual
collusion is thereby rendered unnecessary as the evil is avoided
by excluding claims related to the business of an entity in which
the insured has an ownership interest. Through Exclusion (g),
the policy makes it clear that it will not extend coverage to an
insured sued for professional malpractice outside of legal
matters conducted between the firm and its clients.
The summary judgment motion under review required an
examination of whether the claims for legal malpractice arose "in
connection with" the ownership interest of plaintiffs in West
Paterson. The answer to this inquiry is not so one-sided in
favor of defendant, as to have warranted the grant of summary
judgment. See Brill v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of America,
142 N.J. 520, 536 (1995). We perceive that upon presentation of the
facts at trial and production of the entire Seventh Count of the
amended complaint, it will become apparent whether the wrongful
acts and damages complained of by Pacelli and Vecchiotti were
directly connected to their lawyer-client relationship with the
Law Firm and its partners, or were in connection with the
business relationship existing between the parties and losses
related to that relationship.
Defendant's cross-appeal, based on an asserted violation of
the entire controversy doctrine, is controlled by our recent
decision in Mc Nally v. Providence & Washington,
304 N.J. Super. 83 (App. Div. 1997). Burd v. Sussex Mutual Ins. Co.,
56 N.J. 383, 391 (1970) remains good law. Regarding coverage disputes,
Burd stated:
Whenever the carrier's position so diverges
from the insured's that the carrier cannot
defend the action with complete fidelity to
the insured, there must be a proceeding in
which the carrier and the insured,
represented by counsel of their own choice,
may fight out their differences. That action
may, as here, follow the trial of the third
party's suit against the insured. Or, unless
for special reasons it would be unfair to do
so, a declaratory judgment proceeding may be
brought in advance of that trial by the
carrier or the insured, to the end that the
third-party suit may be defended by the party
ultimately liable.
[Ibid.]
In the present state of the law, the entire controversy doctrine
was correctly held not to bar this action.
Reversed and remanded.
Footnote: 1Paragraph 63 of the complaint is missing from plaintiffs' appendix. This court's efforts to obtain the missing portion of the amended complaint from the parties to both actions have been unsuccessful.